Infiniti Q60 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well this isn’t good. Took the car on an 800 mile trip and the steering was wandering to the point it was scary to drive. Took it to the Infiniti dealer in the city I was visiting and they said they could find nothing wrong with the steering but there was a massive coolant leak. The Infiniti tech line had seen this before and apparently the only fix was a replacement engine. Car has been tied up for a month. Anybody else come across this ?

·
Registered
193 Posts
Sorry to hear this. Over the last 12 years I have owned several Nissan/Infiniti vehicles and this is my first time hearing of something like this. Where was it leaking? Did it overheat? Warped heads? cracked block? Sorry for all of the questions.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Sorry to hear this. Over the last 12 years I have owned several Nissan/Infiniti vehicles and this is my first time hearing of something like this. Where was it leaking? Did it overheat? Warped heads? cracked block? Sorry for all of the questions.
Yea, after 3 of my past cars G35, Q60 '14 and now Q60 '17 .I never had or heard of anything like this. I have heard of the "galley gasket" problem , but thats only in the last month I heard of it. Plus there are many modded Q60 ,and never heard of one engine going on them.
What did the dealer tell you?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Only said a massive coolant leak and a replacement engine was the only solution. I had complained of an antifreeze smell before but was told there was nothing wrong. Engine never got hot or gave any indication of low coolant but apparently there are two separate systems. All work done under warranty but disconcerting to say the least.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Good luck with all of this. The diagnosis information will be on your paperwork. Please share when received.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·