Infiniti Q60 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I’m new to this Q family. I have a Q60 3.0T premium AWD in Canada. I only have JB4 and Infiniti Hemholtz Exhuast and KN drop in filter with me now. Looking for more modifications in the future. Just asking for more advices here.
I’m planning to get a LDP and Heat exchanger for next mod. But my location is Winnipeg, Canada. It seems like we have 7 months with winter time in here. So my question is do I really need heat exchanger for my Q? If not, Should I save the heat exchanger money for getting a Y-pipes and Mid-Pipe? Also, which brand of LDP do you guys recommend? (Megan,AMS,FI). I see there are lots of different reviews for the Megan LDP and Y-pips. Kind of confusing me now.
I will appreciate for all your advice.

·
Super Moderator
3,119 Posts
Unless you're on the track, I don't think the heat exchanger is necessary in Houston, TX where it's known to be hot and humid a bunch.

Reactions: DrJason

·
Registered
984 Posts
Since you are looking for advice - you'll have the JB4 with exhaust mods doubling your boost to Red Sport levels, the single IC pump and stock HE will result in heat soak (i.e., timing pull) after the 1st pull under boost. If you can live with that, then, yeah, skip the HE. Otherwise, get the HE. I have the AMS (Infiniti-branded) HE, and have had no issues with heat soak.

As for the LDPs, I'm a big fan of FI products. Megan is cheap for a reason - I'd question how long they would last operating in winter environments.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Unless you're on the track, I don't think the heat exchanger is necessary in Houston, TX where it's known to be hot and humid a bunch.
Thanks for your response. Once I do a new mod, I might go to track just for testing how fast my Q60 can go. But not often.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5